You are currently in: Home > Planning Officers Society News > NEW PRESIDENT FOR THE PLANNING OFFICERS SOCIETY


Date: 20/5/2007

The Hambleton District Director of Planning and Environmental Services, Steve Quartermain , has become the 11th President of the Planning Officers Society.   He was elected at the Society’s Annual General Meeting held in Kingston-upon-Thames on Friday 18 May 2007.

At the AGM Steve stated that it was his aim for the year to build upon the progress made to date and to cement the role of the POS as a positive force for planning.

Steve has spent his career in local government, working at Epping Forest and Dartford before moving to Hambleton in 1986.   Steve took on his present responsibilities in 1998 and cites the ability to co-ordinate work across a range of services as one of the reasons Hambleton achieved Beacon Council status for the role of planning in creating sustainable communities and for the sound Core Strategy.   Steve graduated from Durham with a degree in Geography.

Steve was Chairman of the Planning Officers Society Management Committee from 2005 until this year.   He took up the position of Senior Vice President of the Society in May 2006 and has been very involved in working to create greater regional involvement in the work of the Society and in promoting the Society nationally.

The AGM was also the occasion to celebrate the 10th Anniversary of the establishment of the Planning Officers Society.   Steve commented “In many respects the Society has never been stronger.   It is active in many areas of policy formation with the government departments and with the LGA and it has forged strong and significant ties with partner organisations such as the RTPI and PAS.   But it is not only in the field of strategic thinking that POS is hitting the mark; in its approach to delivery we are demonstrating that planners can do it, and do it well and in this the POS plays a key role in disseminating good practice and raising the bar above excellence.”

steve-quartermain-pos.jpgSteve Quartermain 

The Immediate Past President of the Society is Hilary Herbert, Planning Manager at Surrey CC. The new Senior Vice-President is Phil Kirby, Strategic Director and Chief Planner at Broadland DC . The new Junior Vice-President is John East, Head of Planning & Transport at Southwark LBC.

   To Top         Back   
Bookmark and Share