You are currently in: Home > Planning Officers Society News > NEW PRESIDENT FOR THE PLANNING OFFICERS SOCIETY


Date: 12/5/2012

The Huntingdonshire Managing Director, Malcolm Sharp, has become the new President of the Planning Officers Society.  He was elected at the Society's Annual General Meeting held in Bournemouth on Friday 11th May 2012.

At the AGM Malcolm stated that "my aim for the year is to promote that good public sector Planners can, and do, produce good outcomes whatever the system and policy environment in which they have to operate. In my experience committed enthusiastic talented planners working creatively with elected members and their communities really can make a positive difference. I also want to encourage more talented younger planners to play a bigger role within the Society."

Malcolm Sharp is Managing Director at Huntingdonshire DC having formerly been Director of Environmental and Community Services and previously Head of Planning Services at the authority.  He joined Huntingdonshire as 1997, from Nottingham City Council where he had spent over 20 years and held several senior planning roles ranging across policy, local planning, development management and implementation.  Before that he had worked for Northampton Development Corporation, after starting his career with the London Borough of Hackney.

Malcolm is a Member of the Royal Town Planning Institute and the Planning Officers Society (currently Senior Vice President).  He is also a Director of Planning Officers Society Enterprises.

Malcolm is especially proud of leading teams that won the RTPI Planning Award for Community Planning in 2006 and the RTPI Silver Jubilee Cup in 2010 for the Great Fen Masterplan.

Malcolm_Sharp_web.jpg  Malcolm Sharp, President 2012/13

The Immediate Past President of the Society is Mike Holmes, Director of Planning & Transport at Bournemouth Borough Council. The new Senior Vice-President is Mike Kiely, Director of Planning & Building Control at Croydon LBC. The new Junior Vice-President is David Evans, Director of Environment at West Dorset DC and Weymouth & Portland BC. 

Read all about the AGM and see the photos 


   To Top         Back   
Bookmark and Share