You are currently in: Home > Planning Officers Society News > Murray New President for POS

Murray New President for POS

Date: 21/6/2015

Stewart Murray, Assistant Director, Planning with the Greater London Authority has become the new President of the Planning Officers Society.  He was elected at the Society's Annual General Meeting held in Dorchester on Friday 19th June 2015. Murray is the 19th President of the Society since its formation in 1997.

At the AGM Stewart stated that "my aim for the year is to elevate public sector planning as a positive force for change and delivery and ensure the message is promoted and influences the new Government in the coming reform agenda."

Stewart re-joined the GLA after the 2012 Olympic Games in 2012, from London Borough of Redbridge where he had spent just over a year delivering the Capital's first CIL. Before that he had worked for the London Borough of Barnet for some 8 years as Director of Planning, Housing & Regeneration.

Stewart is a Member of the Royal Town Planning Institute with some 30 years' experience in local government in the Capital; he was formerly the Senior Vice President of the Planning Officers Society.  He is also a Trustee Director of the Planning Officers Society Board.

The Immediate Past President of the Society is West Dorset and Weymouth & Portland's  Director of Planning & Environment, David Evans. The new Senior Vice-President is Anna Rose, Service Director for Planning and Transport at Milton Keynes Council. The new Junior Vice-President is Steve Ingram, Strategic Director Development and Growth at South Kesteven District Council.

StewartMurray_Pres_web.jpg Stewart Murray



   To Top         Back   
Bookmark and Share